Expand search form

Seats open for soil & water district board

By James Day

Six seats on the seven-person Marion Soil & Water Conservation District board will be up for grabs in the Nov. 8 election.

The board consists of five directors who are elected by zone, with two at-large seats filling out the roster. Only Zone 4 director Dave Budeau is not on the ballot. Zone 4 is in southern Marion County and includes Stayton, Aumsville, Turner and Jefferson.

Here is a look at the geography of the zones:

Zone 1 is in northern Marion County and includes St. Paul and Hubbard. The seat currently is vacant.

Zone 2 is in northeastern Marion County and includes Aurora, Scotts Mills and Woodburn. The current representative is Kyle Ross.

Zone 3 is in central Marion County and includes Keizer, Salem and Silverton. Board chair Darin Olson currently represents the zone.

Zone 5 is in eastern Marion County and includes the Santiam Canyon towns of Mehama, Mill City, Gates, Detroit and Idanha. Rochelle Koch is the current representative.

The two at-large seats currently are held by Scott Walker and Terry Hsu.

Application packets for prospective candidates, including the incumbents, can be picked up now. Go to www.oregon.gov/oda/shared/Documents/Publications/NaturalResources/CandidatePacketforSWCDDirectorElections.pdf or contact [email protected].

The deadline to complete the forms is Aug. 30.

The mission of the district is to work with Marion County residents to protect, conserve and improve soil and water resources.

Important dates for election

Aug. 30: Filing deadline for MSWCD candidates

Oct. 18: Last day to register to vote

Oct 19: Local ballots mailed

Nov. 3: Last day for election officials to mail replacement ballots to voters

Nov. 4: Voters needing a replacement ballot must make arrangements for pickup at the county elections office

Nov. 8: Election Day

Previous Article

Scotts Mills council incumbents hoping to continue to serve

Next Article

Silverton residents will vote on renewing pool levy

You might be interested in …

Sesquicentennial celebrations announced

Marion County and more than 50 partner organizations are hosting a 150-Miles for 150 Years Relay event through each of Marion County’s 20 cities and a number of unincorporated communities.

The relay, to commemorate the Oregon Sesquicentennial, takes place over five weekends, starting Saturday, June 13 in Gates and concluding July 11 at the County Fair.

Drum carders – Silverton cottage industry ships fiber arts device across globe

By Melissa Wagoner When Gabriel and John Berukoff’s construction business slowed down in 2007, the brothers weren’t sure what their next step would be. “We were thinking we might get into making cabinets,” Gabriel recalled.  But then their sister, a fiber arts hobbyist who processed, spun and dyed her own yarn, came to them with a problem. Her drum carder […]

COVID burnout – Survey shows depth of frustrations from teachers

By Stephen Floyd Roughly half of teachers within the Silver Falls School District have either considered leaving during the current school year, or are open to the idea, according to a recent survey by the teacher’s union. Members of the Silver Falls Education Association were anonymously polled to gauge their level of burnout due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Around 60 […]