City seats: Voters now know November choices

September, 2014 Posted in News

Local citizens have stepped forward to serve their cities by running for mayoral and city council positions slated for the Nov. 4 general election ballot.  Running for office are:

Mayor Harold White will run unopposed for another two-year term. Three city councilor seats will be filled. Incumbents Robert Baugh and Brian Czarnik refiled. New to the field is Della Seney. Incumbent Kim Ferguson is not seeking re-election.

Voters in the city of Lyons will have the opportunity to cast ballots for mayor and two city councilors. Running unopposed for mayor is incumbent Dan Burroughs. Council positions on the ballot are for the seat held by Jesse O’Dell and the one vacated by Bryon Brown. Running for the open seats are Troy Donohue, Lloyd Valentine and Stanley Franklin. A seat left vacant by the recent resignation of Councilor Gary Alkire will not be addressed on the November ballot. Alkire was the mayor pro-tem, library commissioner, Lyons-Mehama Water District liaison and safety commissioner. The seat is not up for re-election until 2016, so that position will be filled by appointment.

Mill City voters will select three city councilors and the mayorl.  Incumbent Mayor Tim Kirsch will face challenger Thorin Thacker.

Filing for the positions are Susann Heller (incumbent), Elaina Turpin, Brandon Haraughty, Penny Keen and Lisa Follis. Incumbents Justin Merrill and Fred Smith are not seeking re-election.

The city of Stayton has four positions to fill, mayor and three council seats. The two councilors receiving the highest number of votes will be elected to four-year terms. The councilor receiving the third highest vote is elected to a two-year term. As of press time, Henry Porter had signed on to run for mayor, a seat now held by Scott Vigil who is not seeking re-election. Ralph Lewis, Joseph Usselman, Priscilla Gildewell and Mark Kronquist are running for the city council seats now filled by Emily Gooch, Catherine Hemshorn and Porter.

Mayor Gene Ditter is not seeking re-election. Joanie Wigginton, currently serving on the city council, and Raymond Heuberger will vie for the position.

Two, four-year term council seats are open, and James Kingsbury has filed for one.  For information, call Sublimity City Hall, 503-769-5475. City Recorder is Carrie Corcoran,

Sorry, comments for this entry are closed at this time.