Time to file: City council elections

July, 2014 Posted in News

Have you ever grumbled about a decision made by your city council?  Do you have the leadership skills to bring people together and find common ground to solve problems?

If you have considered running for city council, now is the time to get your paperwork in order and start campaigning. Here are positions on the Nov. 4 ballot:


The city of Aumsville terms for mayor and three city councilor seats expire in 2014.

The mayoral term of office is for two years and the city councilor terms are for four years, both beginning on Jan. 1. The council generally meets on the second and fourth Mondays at 7 p.m..

Incumbents are: Mayor Harold White and city councilors Brad Naylor, Kim Ferguson and Robert Baugh, Jr.

Filing forms and nomination petitions are available at city hall. Nomination may be  made by filing a declaration of candidacy, accompanied by a $25 filing fee or by a petition containing the signatures of not less than 25 qualified voters. Signatures must be verified by Marion County Elections before filing at city hall.

Deadline for filing forms and verified nominations at city hall is Aug. 22, 5 p.m. For information, contact city staff at 503-749-2030.


Voters in the city of Lyons may have the opportunity to cast ballots for mayor and two city councilors.

Council positions on the November ballot are for the seats held by Jesse O’Dell and the one vacated by Bryon Brown. Term of office is four years for city councilors and two years for mayor.

Positions are open to registered voters who have lived within the city of Lyons for 12 months.

Applications are available at city hall, and must be returned no later than 2:30 p.m. on Aug. 15.  For information, call city hall at 503-859-2167.

Mill City 

Mill City has three city councilor terms and the position of mayor to fill.

Mayor Tim Kirsch will run again, but no councilors had filed as of press time. The seats are currently held by Susann Heller, Justin Merrill and Fred Smith.

Councilor positions have a term of four years and the mayor of two years. All persons who are registered voters and who have reside within the Mill City limits are eligible.

Election petitions, required forms and further information are available at Mill City Hall, 444 S First Ave., during business hours. Completed petitions must be filed before 4 p.m. on Aug. 26.

For information, call City Recorder Stacie Cook at 503-897-2302.


The city of Stayton has four positions that could be on the Nov. 4 ballot.

Terms for Mayor Scott Vigil, as well as the three council positions filled by Emily Gooch, Catherine Hemshorn and Henry Porter expire in 2014. New terms begin on Jan. 5, 2015. All positions are non-partisan.

Council positions are elected at large, which means candidates may reside in any area inside the city limits. All positions are voluntary with no pay.

The two councilors receiving the highest number of votes are elected to four-year terms. The councilor receiving the third highest vote is elected to a two-year term.

Filing period for all positions will end at Tuesday, Aug. 26, 5 p.m. Candidate packets are available at the Stayton City Hall, 362 N. Third Ave.

Stayton Deputy City Recorder Alissa Angelo is the elections filing officer, and can be reached at 503-769-3425 or by e-mail at aangelo@ci.stayton.or.us.


Voters in the city of Sublimity may have the opportunity to cast ballots for mayor and two city council positions.

Terms up this year are for the seats held by Mayor Gene Ditter and councilors Gary Rychard and Joanie Wigginton.

Filing deadline is Friday, Aug. 22, 3 p.m. Forms are available at the Sublimity City Hall, 245 NW Johnson St. 503-769-5475. City Recorder is Carrie Corcoran, carrie.corcoran@cityofsublimity.org.

Sorry, comments for this entry are closed at this time.