Bag ban: Silverton Council prepares to take action

December 2018 Posted in Business, Community

By Paula Mabry

After two years of discussion before the Silverton Environmental Management Committee and City Council, banning single-use plastic bags returns to the council agenda Dec. 3. This time as an action item.

The goal, according to councilors, is to take a step toward a more environmentally friendly community by eliminating carry-out plastic bags used by businesses within the city. Non-biodegradable plastics contaminate landfills, the ocean, and are second only to climate change as a global environmental issue, the council was told. 

A similar ban was scheduled fjor a vote by the Salem City Council Nov. 26. If approved, that ban goes into effect April 1, 2019.

In testimony at the council’s Nov. 5 meeting, Silverton Area Chamber of Commerce Executive Director Stacy Palmer said the majority of chamber members support the ban, provided there is time to use current stock. During discussion councilors appeared to agree. 

Councilor Jim Sears urged the council to spend more time “wordsmithing” the two ordinances under discussion: one addressing bags, the other food take-out containers.

Councilor Dana Smith, who also serves on the environmental committee, apologized to committee members for the delay in action, adding, “It’s been at least two years. Another month is not going to hurt.”

“There are going to be people inconvenienced and that is unfortunate but as a society… adaptation to something more environmentally friendly is necessary,” Councilor Matt Plummer said.

The council meets 7 p.m. at the Silverton Community Center, 421 S. Water St. Agenda:

Nov. 6 election results
Marion County official results were scheduled to be finalized Nov. 26, but as of press time were not posted. Unofficial results from the county website are:

Mount Angel – Andy Otte, running unopposed, was re-elected as mayor. Ray Eder (837 votes), Don Fleck (864) and Matthew Donohue (776) were elected to council terms.

Silverton – Kyle Palmer (2817) returns as mayor, defeating challenger Stu Rasmussen (1785). Jim Sears (3013) and Dana Smith (2434) return to the council, to be joined by Crystal Beahm Neideigh (2180). Others: Leigh Harrod (1737) and 1574
write-in votes.

Scotts Mills – Paul Brakeman (112) returns as mayor. Dusty Craig (112), Monika Martin (78), and Robin Fournier (76) won seats on the council. Also running were Valerie Lemings (67) and Emily Christenson (49).

Sorry, comments for this entry are closed at this time.