Candidates file for council seats

September 2014 Posted in News

There will be a contest for city council seats in both Mount Angel and Silverton on the Nov. 4 general election ballot.

In Silverton, incumbent Mayor Stu Rasmussen will face challenger Rick Lewis.

Nine candidates are competing for three Silverton councilor seats as of 4:30 p.m. on filing deadline day.

Incumbents Bill Cummins, Randal Thomas and Scott Walker have filed election papers along with challengers Dick Drake, Robert Gerig, Aaron Koch, Kyle Palmer, Jim Sears and Dana Smith.

In Mount Angel, incumbent Mayor Andrew Otte was the only candidate to file for the next two-year term as mayor.

In the city council race, four candidates will vie for three seats. Incumbent Councilor Karl Bischoff filed, as did Matthew Eagles, Ray Eder  and Donald Fleck.

Scotts Mills Council canidates will be listed in the Sept. 15 Our Town.

A series of stories on the city races as well as the Silver Falls School District bond election will appear in Our Town over the next several issues.

If you have questions you would like candidates to address, drop a line to or PO Box 927, Mount Angel, OR 97362

Sorry, comments for this entry are closed at this time.