Hall of Fame: Kennedy honors excellence

December 2012 Posted in Sports
The Mount Angel Sports Hall of Fame recipients for 2012.

The Mount Angel Sports Hall of Fame recipients for 2012.

By Vince Teresi

Kennedy High School Athletic Director Kevin Moffatt has seen another of his dreams realized. Along with his baseball team winning the state 3A/2A/1A championship in 2012, he wanted to inaugurate an Athletic Hall of Fame for coaches and student-athletes from the Mount Angel area.

Moffatt’s dream was assisted by junior Emily Schmidt, who helped organize the event, and former Kennedy students Jordan Susee and Emily Unrein, who researched and set the criteria for the Hall of Fame.

On Dec. 15, former athletes and coaches of both Mount Angel Prep and Kennedy High were inducted into the Athletic Hall of Fame at St. Mary’s Parish Hall. The audience of 140 saw 18 individuals receive plaques for their performances in the athletic arena. Introducing award recipients was host Joe Becker, Channel 8 sportscaster.

Inducted into the 2012 Hall of Fame were athletes Leo Grosjacques, Mount Angel Prep class of 1942;
Norb Wellman, Mount Angel Prep ‘50; Sharon (Bernt) Mucken, Kennedy ‘75; Deanna (Schiedler) O’Neil, Kennedy ‘83; Brian Traeger, Kennedy ‘92., and coaches Dave Kohler, John Kuppenbender and Fran Piatz.  Also honored was the 1985 Kennedy girls track team which earned the school’s first state championship. Included were: Karen (Fessler) Jaeger; Sandy (Fessler) Traeger; Kim (Halter) Felix; Julie (Huber) Frederick; Rachel (Schiedler) Adamec;  Ruth (Piatz) Wehby;  Annette (Schiedler) Bourke; Francis Wittman; Lisa (Beyer) Holt; Kathleen (Manley) Beyer; Therese (Traeger) Webb.

Sorry, comments for this entry are closed at this time.